Copy
View this email in your browser

News and Updates from
DeKalb Citizens Advocacy Council

March 9, 2020  Volume 1: Issue 12

Hello Supporters

Just a quick report from last week’s Ethics Committee Meeting -
 
Ethics Committee Meeting Report (03/04/20)

The second committee meeting was moved to Wednesday afternoon due to scheduling issues.  The invited speakers included: Dwight Thomas, who argued the case resulting in the appointment process being declared unconstitutional, Ed Williams of Concerned Citizens of DeKalb County, and Donna Coleman-Stribling, the Solicitor General of DeKalb County.  The County Attorney did not attend, and no reference was made to any material being received from the Ethics Officer at the time of the meeting.

Currently there are two ethics bills being reviewed:

Rep. Matthew Wilson: dealing only with the Ethics Board appointment process

Rep. Viola Davis: includes same Ethics Board appointment process as other bill, but also calls for:
  1. two alternates to replace board members who are absent or find they must recuse themselves for a conflict of interest
  2. officials or employees, including Ethics Board members, to recuse themselves when there is a conflict of interest
  3. a “no-gift” acceptance policy for officials or employees
Both bills have had their first reading in the Delegation meeting. There is the possibility that a third bill will be introduced by Representative Vernon Jones.

The committee meeting scheduled for Monday, March 9th has been cancelled.  Representative from DeKalb Citizens will be monitoring the committee’s schedule and we plan on attending any rescheduled meeting.  We will also be attending the remaining three House Delegation meetings.  We continue to hope that a positive bill will be passed soon so it can go to the Senate Delegation for their review. 

We also continue to advocate for the simple fix. 

Time is of the essence. Please communicate with your state representative and senator to encourage them to pass ethics legislation this session so a Board of Ethics can be seated in 2020. 
See below for House and Senate members’ contact information:

DeKalb House Legislative Delegation
[By District Number]
Mike Wilensky—District 79
mike.wilensky@house.ga.gov
678/791-1725
Matthew Wilson—District 80
matthew.wilson@house.ga.gov
678/631-8820
Scott Holcomb—District 81
scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov
404/387-0373
Mary Margaret Oliver—District 82
mmo@mmolaw.com
404/377-0485
Becky Evans—District 83
becky.evans@house.ga.gov
404/464-6758
Renitta Shannon—District 84
renitta.shannon@house.ga.gov
770/299-9548
Karla Drenner—District 85
karla.drenner@house.ga.gov
404/508-4128
Michele Henson—District 86
michele.henson@house.ga.gov
404/296-1442
Viola Davis—District 87
viola.davis@house.ga.gov
678/349-6835
Billy Mitchell—District 88
billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov
770/465-8800
Bee Nguyen—District 89
bee.nguyen@house.ga.gov
404/630-2301
Pam Stephenson—District 90
pam.stephenson@house.ga.gov
404/289-8300
Vernon Jones—District 91
vernon.jones@house.ga.gov
404/957-6575
Doreen Carter—District 92
doreen.carter@house.ga.gov
678/964-4946
Dar’shun Kendrick—District 93
dkendrick@kendrickforgeorgia.com
678/323-7887
Karen Bennett—District 94
karen.bennett@house.ga.gov
404/983-7900

DeKalb Senate Legislative Delegation
[By District Number]
Emanuel Jones—District 10
emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov
770/964-8888
Sally Harrell—District 40
sally.harrell@senate.ga.gov
470/499-0601
Stephen Henson—District 41
steve.henson@senate.ga.gov
678/907-2723
Elena Parent—District 42
elena.parent@senate.ga.gov
404/656-5109
Tonya Anderson—District 43
tonya.anderson@senate.ga.gov
678/400-4969
Gail Davenport—District 44
gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov
678/215-9971
Gloria Butler—District 55
gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov
770/469-3260

 
Donations Appreciated! Just click this button.
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2020 DeKalb Citizens Advocacy Council, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp