Copy
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
YouTube
Website
Welcome to the final week of the 2nd rePRO Film FestThis week's special guests include Jonelle Procope, Alexis McGill Johnson, Wendy Davis, Erica L. Taylor & more!

Plus, we we have new films, special events, and Call-to-Action Conversations that will leave you feeling inspired, educated, and empowered. There's plenty of time left before the festival closes this Wednesday, August 18th at 11:00pm ET, so set yourself up with film tickets, or even better, an all-access pass that gives you exclusive on demand access to all rePRO Film Fest films!

As always, you can feel good about parking your dollars with rePRO Film Fest tickets and passes, as all proceeds are directly converted into donations to our women-led reproductive rights and justice Beneficiary Organizations.   


Already a ticket or passholder? Click HERE to access your films now! If you are an all access passholder and you have yet to receive your passholder access email, please check your spam folder. Still don't see it? Not to worry, email us at help@mama.film and we'll have you streaming in no time.

And don't forget to download our Roku app for the best festival viewing experience!

Here's what we have in store for you this week:
MONDAY, AUGUST 16, 2021
Join us as we present the second ChangemakeHER Award to Jonelle Procope, President & CEO of the legendary Apollo Theater! Beginning tonight at 6:30pm ET / 5:30pm CT / 3:30pm PT, Jonelle will be interviewed by Alexis McGill Johnson, President and CEO, Planned Parenthood Federation of America.

Since 2003, Jonelle has led the Apollo, an American cultural treasure and vibrant non-profit organization that is rooted in the Harlem community but that speaks to, and welcomes, people from around New York, the nation, and the world. Under her leadership, the Apollo has remained steadfast in its commitment to meeting the needs of its community while standing firm in what it has always been — a beacon for Black artists and contemporary culture, and a catalyst for social and civic advocacy.

The rePRO Film Fest team is excited to honor Jonelle for her commitment to the art of storytelling - particularly supporting people from historically marginalized communities - and its power to humanize lived experiences and catalyze important dialogue that can incite advocacy and awareness in a wholly unique way.

This event is free and open to the public, and will be broadcast on the rePRO Film Fest YouTube channel. Be sure to subscribe so you never miss our latest content!
Make plans to attend a very special event: A Sneak Peek of RED ALERT: THE FIGHT AGAINST FIBROIDS, LIVE on Monday, August 16th at 8:30pm ET / 7:30pm CT / 5:30pm PT! We will have a discussion with the film's director/producer Erica L. Taylor, followed by an exclusive sneak peek from the upcoming feature documentary.

RED ALERT: THE FIGHT AGAINST FIBROIDS is a film project designed to build awareness and compassion for the vast amounts of women whose lives have been interrupted  by fibroid tumors and related reproductive illnesses. There is no known cause or cure for fibroids, but nearly half-million fibroid-related hysterectomies are performed annually in the United States. In some cases, the lasting effects of permanent, invasive surgery are mental and physical distress.  While 70% of all women have fibroids, 80% of black women will have symptomatic fibroid tumors by age 50. Red Alert unmasks the hopes and fears of real fibroid patients while presenting cutting edge research that will spark progressive change for millions of women.

This event is free and open to the public, and will be broadcast on the rePRO Film Fest YouTube channel, where you can also subscribe to be the first to hear about the latest rePRO Film Fest content. 
TUESDAY, AUGUST 17, 2021
Today we welcome Wendy Davis, former Texas State Senator, and founder of Deeds Not Words, who will lead our Call-to-Action Conversation: Texans Fighting Back – Keeping the Choice in Pro-Choice. This Conversation will examine the current bills, suits, and legal attacks on women’s bodily autonomy in the state of Texas.
Listen in as Wendy speaks with some of the leading experts and voices in the field: CALL-TO-ACTION CONVERSATION
TEXANS FIGHTING BACK
KEEPING THE CHOICE IN PRO-CHOICE
LIVE – August 17th
7pm ET / 6pm CT / 4pm PT
Free and open to the public
Full information
WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 18, 2021

ON THE DIVIDE
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Tickets: Streaming window:      
11am ET / 10am CT / 8am PT - 11pm ET / 10pm CT / 8pm PT
Passholders: On demand access



 
ON THE DIVIDE follows the story of three Latinx people living in McAllen, Texas who, despite their views, are connected by the most unexpected of places: the last abortion clinic on the U.S./Mexico border. As threats to the clinic and their personal safety mount, these three are forced to make decisions they never could have imagined.

ON THE DIVIDE CALL-TO-ACTION CONVERSATION
LIVE - Wednesday, August 18, 2021
8:30pm ET / 7:30pm CT / 5:30pm PT
Free and open to the public
Full information
A LIPSTICK THAT GIVES BACK
If you need a sign to treat yourself to a new lip color - here it is! 

Thanks to the incredibly creative and generous team at SHESPOKE, rePRO Film Fest has a limited edition custom SHESPOKE lipstick: Labia Majora! Each time you purchase this cushy, luscious, and sublimely satin lipstick a portion of the proceeds goes directly to support our 2021 Beneficiary Organizations: Black Women's Health Imperative, The Lilith Fund, and No More Secrets.

This gorgeous color won't be around for long, so get yours today!
PURCHASE LIPSTICK

Support rePRO Film Fest

rePRO Film Fest is presented by mama.film, a 501(c3) not-for-profit cinematic arts organization that operates with support from sponsors, donors and grants. We are a village at the crossroads of art & advocacy, where storytellers, changemakers and nurturers come together to champion humanity through a maternal gaze. 

DONATE
Copyright © 2021 mamafilm, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
Website