Copy
View this email in your browser

August 11, 2022

Seven things you need to know...here we go.

1. 53rd Dove Award Nominations include multiple nods for Phil Wickham, for KING + COUNTRY and Anne Wilson

Nominations for the 53rd annual GMA Dove Awards were highlighted by multiple nods for Phil Wickham, for KING + COUNTRY, Maverick City Music and newcomer Anne Wilson.

<<read more>>

2. Barber says implementation task force strengthened by different perspectives, backgrounds

Diverse experiences and opinions related to the SBC and sexual abuse among members of the recently-named Abuse Reform Implementation Task Force (ARITF) will enhance that group’s ability to present recommendations at next year’s annual meeting, said SBC President Bart Barber in a video release.

<<read more>>

3. Pastor’s second-grade teacher’s impact drives his educational outreach

Church planter and pastor Emory Berry Jr.’s passion for serving the educational community has its roots in his second-grade public school teacher of decades ago, Lillie Courtney, who also taught him Sunday School.

<<read more>>

4. Soul City Church: ‘We’re going to raise a generation’

After months of work, Soul City Church in the heart of midtown Jackson has reopened an abandoned city swimming pool as a ministry to the neighborhood served by the church – and that’s not all.

<<read more>>

5. Your Daily Joe

Your Daily Joe is a daily comics feature by Joe McKeever exclusive to Baptist Press.

<<see more>>

6. On this day in SBC history...

In 2009 - NAMB president, 3 associates, resign

Geoff Hammond and three of his closest associates resigned their positions with the North American Mission Board Tuesday after trustees met more than seven hours in executive session at the board’s Alpharetta, Ga., headquarters.

<<read more>>

7. BP Sports Update

  • MLB: Welcome to the show, Vaughn Grissom. The phenom homered, stole a base, and scored a pair of runs in his MLB debut Wednesday night. The Braves also beat Boston 8-4.
  • MLS: The MLS All-Stars beat Liga MX 2-1 in the friendly competition.

About the SBC Morning Briefing

The SBC Morning Briefing is a compilation of news and links for readers of Baptist Press and SBC Life. Jonathan Howe compiles and edits the newsletter. Howe serves as Vice President for Communications at the SBC Executive Committee.

For questions, suggestions, or sponsorship opportunities, contact jhowe@sbc.net.

Copyright © 2022 SBC Executive Committee, All rights reserved.


You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.